Lumen Wheatbelt Regional University Study Hubs

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Lumen Wheatbelt Regional University Study Hub?

The Lumen Study Hubs are supported by the Australian Government through the Regional University Study Hubs Program. Our hubs are located here in the Wheatbelt to support our students who choose to remain in their communities during their studies. We aim to bridge the gap between the support our students need, and the resources accessible to them in the Wheatbelt. We also play a crucial role in advocating for rural and remote students in the Education sector.

Where are we?

Lumen currently has four study hubs, located in Merredin, Narrogin, York and Wongan Hills.

Who can access the Lumen Study Hubs?

If you are enrolled at any University, TAFE or Registered Training Organisation, you are welcome to use our study hubs, even when traveling or on placement.

Can other people, family or friends also use the facilities?

Only registered Lumen students are able to use the facilities. Pets are also not permitted in the hubs.

Thinking of studying but don’t know where to begin?

Our Lumen Student Support Officers are more than happy to help! We will sit down and talk with you to better understand your needs and provide you with a range of study options and assist you throughout the application process.

Is it free to register as a Lumen student?

There are no costs involved to become a Lumen student and all of the resources available at Lumen are provided totally free to our students.

Do I need my own computer?

You don’t need your own computer, but if you have a laptop it’s good to bring it with you. Each study hub provides one desktop computer and multiple desks with docking stations and a screen where you can plug in your own laptop. It is recommended to book with the Student Support Officer for the desktop computers as there is usually only one of these at each hub.