Lumen Wheatbelt Regional University Centre

Lumen Launches in the Wheatbelt!

3 May 2023

We are excited to announce the official opening of the Lumen Wheatbelt Regional University Centre.

Opened at the Narrogin study hub by the Federal Assistant Minister for Education; Assistant Minister for Regional Development, Senator the Hon. Anthony Chisholm and the Senator for WA the Hon. Sue Lines. Also attended by Mr Peter Rundle MLA Deputy Leader of The Nationals WA and the Hon. Shelley Payne MLC Member for the Agricultural Region.

Lumen Wheatbelt Regional University Centre (Lumen WRUC) is one of eight new Regional University Centres (RUC) being established nationally through the Federal Department of Education. Lumen WRUC exists alongside three other Western Australian RUCs: Albany, Geraldton and the Pilbara. We have partnered with local government, Community Resource Centres and local business in establishing the program to date and will continue to collaborate with the community as we grow.

There are approximately 1000 students living in the Wheatbelt who are accessing higher education studies through Australian Universities, TAFE and registered training organisations (RTO). Lumen WRUC is an initiative of Regional Development Australia Wheatbelt Inc (RDA Wheatbelt) and has been operational since November 2022. Lumen WRUC takes a tailored approach to serving the Wheatbelt’s dispersed population by setting up in four locations across the region. There are four study hubs located in the towns of Merredin, Narrogin, Wongan Hills and York.

Lumen WRUC exists to assist in removing barriers to accessing higher education and keep students in and connected to our communities to work and live. A review by RDA Wheatbelt of the 2016 Census found that just 6% of 18-24 year olds in the Wheatbelt were attending university or another Tertiary institution compared to 32% of their 18-24 years counterparts in the Greater Perth Area5.

Each study hub is equipped with reliable internet, docking hubs, free printing, and quiet study spaces as well as an opportunity to network with other students. A student support officer will be employed in each study hub to offer help and support to anyone studying. Given the size of the Wheatbelt region, students can register to use the study hub located closest to them.

Lumen WRUC already have a large number of registered students from towns across the Wheatbelt, extending from the Central Midlands, Central East, Avon and Wheatbelt South. These students are studying through universities, TAFE and registered training providers across Australia. Courses of registered students range from bridging courses, diplomas and degrees through to post-graduate qualifications.

RDA Wheatbelt and Lumen WRUC are excited to grow our student community and grow and develop positive relationships and partnerships with industry.

Elise Woods, Director – Lumen Wheatbelt Regional University Centre  0488 025 446